Omar Nafiz, Registered Migration Agent Omar Nafiz
🧭 Find my pathway Book a free call
🧭 Find my pathway
Services 🎓 Study💼 Work and sponsorship🧭 Skilled migration and PR💞 Family and partner💳 Services and fees
Tools 🧭 Find my pathway🧮 Points calculator💲 Government fee calculator📊 Victoria points (VPT)🧰 More tools
Case StudiesUpdates
About 👤 About Omar⚖️ Code of Conduct and Consumer Guide❓ FAQ📞 Contact
Book a free call

State nomination

Each state and territory runs its own program, list and timing. We choose the right state for your occupation and have your file ready before it opens.

Category
Points-tested
Used for
190 (+5 points), 491 (+15 points)
Status
Changes monthly — see the table below
Our fee
From A$3,300

Start here

Do this

  • Calculate your Victorian Points Test (VPT) score before Victoria opens
  • Check each state's occupation list every program year
  • Prepare before the opening
  • Keep proof of residence and work

Avoid this

  • Assuming last year's list still applies
  • Applying to several states with inconsistent claims
  • Ignoring residence requirements
  • Missing the opening window

What a wrong turn can cost: Missing an opening can mean waiting another program year.

Are you on the right track?

  1. Do you know which states list your occupation?
  2. Is your file ready today?
  3. Do you meet the state's residence rules?

Unsure about any of these? Talk it through on a free call — you're not alone in this.

Is this you?

  • You're planning a 190 or 491.
  • You don't know which state suits your occupation.
  • You want an alert when your state reopens.

What changed

13 Oct 2026 Victoria published its 2026–27 Victorian Points Test (VPT) and new fees ($66 ROI, $198 nomination incl. GST). Registrations from earlier years must be resubmitted when the program opens.

2026–27 State places up; regional places reportedly cut sharply.

State status

StateStatusNote
VictoriaOpening soon (2026–27)New VPT ranking; new ROI required; fees $66 ROI + $198 nomination (incl. GST). Updated 13 Oct 2026.
NSWNot yet openAwaiting 2026–27 allocation
QueenslandNot yet openAwaiting 2026–27 allocation
South AustraliaOpenActive program
Western AustraliaAccepting2026–27 settings not yet announced
TasmaniaOpenRegistrations from 17 Aug 2026
ACTOpen—
Northern TerritoryOpen—

Victoria updated 13 October 2026 from Live in Melbourne. Other states as at 31 August 2026 — always confirm on the state's own website.

State by state

What each state says right now, from its official site. Rules change quickly, so check the official page on the day.

VIC

Victoria

Opening soon

As at 13 October 2026, Victoria said its 2026–27 program will open soon for registrations of interest.

How it works
Register interest. Victoria ranks registrations with its own Victorian Points Test (VPT).
Points or ranking
Yes. The Victorian Points Test.
State fees
Registration of interest A$60, nomination A$180 (A$66 and A$198 with GST if you pay in Australia).
SA

South Australia

Open (onshore, limited)

From 22 October 2026, registrations of interest are open for people already living and working in South Australia whose visa expires by 31 January 2027.

How it works
Onshore: lodge a registration of interest. Overseas: keep a SkillSelect expression of interest; no registration of interest needed. Everyone needs a current SkillSelect EOI.
Points or ranking
No state points test found. Priority sectors: building and construction, defence, education, engineering, health and manufacturing.
State fees
Not stated on the update page. Check Migration SA.
NSW

New South Wales

Invitation only

NSW invites from SkillSelect throughout the year. It publishes no invitation round dates.

How it works
Lodge a SkillSelect expression of interest. If invited, you have 14 days to respond. You need a skills assessment for an occupation on the NSW Skills List, and either 20+ hours a week of work in NSW in your occupation or 6 months living in NSW (onshore), or 6 months living outside Australia (offshore).
Points or ranking
No state points test. NSW uses your SkillSelect points.
State fees
Not stated on the 190 page. Check the NSW page.
ACT

Australian Capital Territory

Rounds running

The ACT held a Canberra Matrix invitation round on 12 October 2026. It says its 2026–27 allocation is not yet confirmed by the Australian Government.

How it works
Submit the Canberra Matrix. Applicants are ranked by Matrix score and invited. You must live and work in Canberra for at least two years from grant.
Points or ranking
Yes. The Canberra Matrix (Canberra residents and overseas applicants have separate versions).
State fees
Canberra Matrix A$25, 190 or 491 nomination A$325 (A$27.50 and A$357.50 with GST). Non-refundable.

Each state runs its own program, list and timing, and they change often. Check the official page on the day you apply. Nobody can promise a nomination. Last checked 22 October 2026.

Who qualifies

  • An occupation on the state's list.
  • The state's own criteria — often living or working there.
  • Federal requirements: skills assessment, English, age and points.

Step by step

  1. Choose the stateOccupation, residence rules and competitiveness.
  2. PrepareSkills assessment and English done before opening.
  3. Register interestExpression of interest plus the state's own application.
  4. NominationThen the visa invitation and lodgement.

Document checklist

Your ticks are saved on this device only.

Common problems

The problemMissing the opening window
How we helpReady list and alerts.
The problemPicking a state that doesn't want your occupation
How we helpA state-by-state comparison.

Myths and facts

MythEvery state takes every occupation.
FactEach sets its own list every year.

How we help you with State nomination

  1. 1
    UnderstandA state match for your occupation.
  2. 2
    PlanA ranked plan with timing.
  3. 3
    PrepareYour file ready before opening.
  4. 4
    LodgeDay-one application and follow-up.
  5. 5
    DestinationVisa lodged within 60 days of invitation.

What you'll receive

State comparisonOpening alertsReady fileApplication updates

How we keep in touch: Alerts as states open, then weekly updates.

Three ways to do it

An honest look at your options. Some people do this themselves, and that can work well.

Comparison for State nomination
TopicWith Omar NafizDoing it yourselfWith another provider
State choiceCompared across all statesYour current state onlyVaries
TimingReady before openingScrambling afterVaries
AlertsDay-one alertsManual checkingVaries
ConsistencyOne set of claims everywhereEasy to contradict yourselfVaries
CostIncluded in our packageFees onlyVaries

A situation like yours

An illustrative situation, in Omar's words. Names and details are fictional. See all situations.

Which state suits my occupation?

Ivan · Planning a 190 or 491 · Overseas

The situation. Ivan is 27, an IT professional with Proficient English. He does not know which state to aim for, or when each one opens.

How I'd approach it

What I check first. Every state has its own list, rules and timing, so I look at them one by one. Victoria uses its own points test. South Australia opened registrations on 22 October, but only for people already living and working there whose visa expires by 31 January 2027. New South Wales invites from SkillSelect, with no announced round dates. The ACT ranks applicants on the Canberra Matrix.

The options. Match his occupation to each state's list. Prepare one file that works for all of them. Set alerts for each opening. Fees differ too: the ACT charges A$25 for the Matrix and A$325 for a nomination, plus GST.

Age and English. At 27 his age scores 30 federally and 300 in Victoria. Proficient English scores 10 and 100. Those are strong starting numbers, but each state still ranks on its own rules.

My caution. Rules change quickly and each state publishes its own. I check the official page on the day. Nobody can promise a nomination.

Illustrative situation. The names and details are fictional.

Questions people ask

Which state is easiest?

It depends on your occupation and where you live.

When does Victoria reopen?

Victoria says the 2026–27 program will open soon. Everyone needs to submit a new ROI then — check your score with our Victorian Points Test calculator.

Pricing

Consultation

A$110
Credited to any package

A full review of your situation and a written plan.

Included in skilled visa package

A$3,300
+ GST, our fee

Expression of interest, state applications and visa.

Government visa charge (Department of Home Affairs, as at 1 July 2026)

VisaMain applicantExtra 18+Extra under 18
Skilled Nominated (190)A$6,140A$3,070A$1,535
Skilled Work Regional (491)A$6,140A$3,070A$1,535

Checked 22 October 2026. Official pricing table · Estimate for your family

Government and third-party fees, paid separately: State nomination fees vary by state. Visa charge A$6,140.

Our prices as at 22 October 2026. Packages are paid in stages, only after you sign a written service agreement. All services and fees.

Book

Talk to us about State nomination

Start with a free 15-minute phone call. If you need full advice, book a A$110 consultation — it comes off your package.

Often considered alongside

Related reading

All Pathway Education posts ↗

Official sources

Figures checked 8 October 2026. Visa rules and charges change — we confirm everything for your situation before you pay for a package.

Not sure where you stand?

Talk it through with us. The first 15 minutes on the phone are free, and you decide what happens next.

Free 15-min call A$110 consult